Perspective and contents of the website Accords Nouveaux

Visitors, from the knowledgeable professional to the curious music lover, shall find here everything they need to work with the musical in Accords Nouveaux. Furthermore, the website shall sum up and document on a regular basis the current research on the subject.
This means that any collaboration of the visitors is welcome. Please communicate your commentaries and supplements via the contact page!

The introductory pages comprise the following subjects:

• The wider context of Accords Nouveaux
• Thoughts on the question “Why Accords Nouveaux?” This includes the subject of musical temperament, especially in fretted instruments.
• Organology, particularly of the Lute, Lyra viol, Mandore, and Baroque Guitar

In the research pages (menu Thesis with sub pages) you will find:

Studies in and research data relating to Accords Nouveaux:

• François-Pierre Goy’s 500 pages strong thesis from 1988/89 on the manuscript transmission of music in Accords Nouveaux contains among other things the description and classificaton of all known manuscripts which contain music in Accords Nouveaux.
• The data bank PAN (= Pièces en Accords Nouveaux) lists all the known pieces in Accords Nouveaux, including the print versions, and concordant versions in other tunings or for other than lute instruments.
• A Guide pratique, which is presently work in progress, collects the most important information on working with the sources.
• The list of sources with music in Accords Nouveaux, supplemented by reproductions of the sources BERN, state archive, HA Spiez 123 (5-CH BEa 123), and BASEL, university library, Ms. F IX 53 (2-CH-Bu 53), which both can be downloaded.
• The tunings data bank records all known tunings for Lute, Lyra viol, Mandore, and Baroque Guitar.
• A detailed representation of the Accords Nouveaux.
• A data bank listing the signs used in the music, differentiated according to contents layers of the sources in which they were used.
• A data bank listing writer’s hands (in progress), supplemented by an article on Bullen Reymes by François-Pierre Goy.

Up to now, names for the different tunings were derived from the tables of the researchers (Goy 2a / Radke 12 / Rave 12 / Schulze-Kurz 15). Instead of this we propose a slightly modified contemporary system, which is already in use in the field of Gamba research, were unisons are indicated by the letters of the French tablature. You will find further information about this here.

Additional contents

- The Book The Lute in Europe 2. Lutes, Guitars, Mandolins, and Citterns offers an introduction into the world of plucked strings in European cultures. Please note also the sub-menus “Reviews of the 2nd edition”, “Material, addenda, errata”, Reviews of the 1st edition”, and “Edition 1”.

- A facsimile of the Baroque-lute manuscript B-Bc FA VI 10.

- An overview and facsimiles of all lute and cittern sources which have Swiss connections.

- Information about the authors, and access to their individual projects is to be found under “Authors”, or here for
François-Pierre Goy
Andreas Schlegel

Remarks about the background and origin of informations

Especially in texts by Andreas Schlegel which sum up knowledge both of a general as of a special kind, information gleaned through diverse communications over the past 35 years can be found. Wherever possible the sources of this information are cited. Sometimes the lack of any publication which might be referred to makes this difficult. In other cases it has shown that what a researcher thought to have newly discovered, others knew before him and think of it as common knowledge.
There is no intention here to present what is in reality the result of other people’s work as if it were based on one’s own discoveries. The overview articles about types of instruments in particular can not be seen as one individual’s achievement, but as collections and condensed accounts of many sources. References to literature are given, whereever this is possible.

Ziel und Inhalt der Seite „accords nouveaux“

Benutzer – vom eingefleischten Profi bis zum neugierigen Musikliebhaber – sollen alles Material, das zur Arbeit mit Musik in Accords nouveaux notwendig ist, zur Verfügung gestellt bekommen. Darüber hinaus soll die Homepage die weitere Forschung laufend zusammenfassen und dokumentieren. Somit ist die Mitarbeit der Benutzer ausdrücklich erwünscht. Bitte verwenden Sie für Ihre Ergänzungen und Anmerkungen die Kontakt-Seite!

Die Seite wird mehrmals pro Jahr mit einem Update versehen. Deshalb bitten wir Forscher, jeweils das Datum des Downloads von Informationen festzuhalten und vor einer Veröffentlichung mit Material dieser Seite nachzusehen, ob allenfalls Korrekturen und / oder Ergänzungen vorliegen.

Sie finden in den Einführungen folgende Gebiete erläutert:

"Accords nouveaux" im grösseren Kontext
Gedanken zur Frage "Warum Accords nouveaux?"
• Darin ist die Frage der musikalischen Temperatur, speziell für Bundinstrumente, abgehandelt.
• Instrumentenkunde, speziell Laute, Lyra viol, Mandore und Barockgitarre

Sie finden Klangbeispiele für Musik in Accords nouveaux aus der Quelle 2-CH-Bu 53.

Sie finden im Forschungsteil (Menü Abhandlung mit untergeordneten Seiten):

Forschungsarbeiten zum Thema "Accords nouveaux":
• Die rund 500-seitige Abhandlung von François-Pierre Goy über die handschriftliche Überlieferung der Musik in Accords nouveaux aus dem Jahre 1988/89 enthält u.a. die Beschreibung und Einordnung aller bekannter Manuskripte, die Musik in Accords nouveaux enthalten.
• Die Datenbank PAN (= Pièces en accords nouveaux) enthält sämtliche bekannte Stücke in Accords nouveaux (inklusive Drucke und Konkordanzen in anderen Stimmungen resp. für andere Instrumente).
• Der in Arbeit befindliche Guide pratique fasst die wichtigsten Informationen für die Arbeit mit den Quellen zusammen.
• Die Auflistung der Quellen mit Musik in Accords nouveaux samt der Reproduktion der Quellen BERN, Staatsarchiv, HA Spiez 123 (5-CH-BEa 123) und BASEL, Universitätsbibliothek, Ms. F IX 53 (2-CH-Bu 53) (zum Download)
• Die Stimmungsdatenbank verzeichnet sämtliche bekannte Stimmungen für Laute, Lyra viol, Mandore und Barockgitarre.
• Die differenzierte Darstellung der Accords nouveaux
• Die Datenbank mit den verwendeten Zeichen, differenziert nach inhaltlicher Schicht der Quellen
• Die Schreiber-Datenbank samt dem Artikel von François-Pierre Goy über Bullen Reymes.

Bisher wurden die verschiedenen verwendeten Stimmungen nach den Tabellen des jeweiligen Forschers benannt (Goy 2a / Radke 12 / Rave 12 / Schulze-Kurz 15). Wir möchten an Stelle ein leicht modifiziertes zeitgenössisches System vorschlagen, das auch für Gamben in Verwendung ist, nämlich die Unisono-Bezeichnung mit den Buchstaben der französischen Tabulatur. Weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie hier.

Weitere Inhalte

- Eine Einführung in die Welt der im europäischen Kulturkreis verwendeten Zupfinstrumente liefert das Buch „Die Laute in Europa 2. Lauten, Gitarren, Mandolinen und Cistern“. Bitte beachten Sie auch die Untermenues „Rezensionen 2. Auflage“, „Material, Addenda, Errata“, „Rezensionen 1. Auflage“ und „Auflage 1“.

- Faksimile des Barocklauten-Manuskripts B-Bc FA VI 10 (siehe Seitenleiste)

- Eine Übersicht zu allen Lauten- und Cister-Quellen, die in einem Zusammenhang mit der Schweiz stehen (inkl. diverse Online-Faksimile; siehe Seitenleiste)

- Informationen zu den Autoren und Zugang zu persönlichen Projekten finden Sie unter „Autoren“ oder hier für
François-Pierre Goy
Andreas Schlegel

Bemerkung zur Herkunft des Wissens

Vor allem bei den Texten von Andreas Schlegel, die allgemeines und spezielles Wissen zusammenfassen, können Erkenntnisse enthalten sein, von denen er in den vielen Gesprächen erfuhr, die er in den letzten 35 Jahren geführt hat. Wo immer möglich wird die Quelle angegeben. Manchmal besteht die Schwierigkeit darin, dass vom entsprechenden Forscher keine zitierbare Publikation vorliegt. Manchmal musste in darauf folgenden Gesprächen auch festgestellt werden, dass das, was von einem Forscher für seine eigene Endeckung gehalten wird, anderen Forschern schon längst bekannt war und von diesen als Allgemeingut angesehen wird.
Es ist nicht Absicht, Leistungen von Forschern als eigene Erkenntnis darzustellen. Gerade die zusammenfassenden Artikel über Instrumententypen sind in diesem Sinne nicht Eigenleistungen, sondern Sammlungen und Verdichtungen vieler Einzelbeiträge, die wo möglich durch zitierfähige Literaturhinweise belegt sind.